+1 785-235-1307
534 S Kansas Ave. Ste. 1105, Topeka, Kansas 66603

Hod Humiston Award for Sports Broadcasting

Hod Humiston Award for Sports Broadcasting

The Hod Humiston Award is given annually to a Kansas broadcaster who has made significant contributions to the field of sports broadcasting as well as work in the community.  The award is named for Hod Humiston who was the first television sportscaster in Kansas when he did play-by-play coverage of college games for KTVH (now KWCH TV), channel 12, Wichita.

Hod was founder and a co-owner of KSKU radio and was also employed as an announcer for KWBW and KWHK radio stations in Hutchinson. He was instrumental in bringing the national junior college basketball tournament to Hutchinson, where it has been since 1949.

How to Nominate
Please fill out our online form by March 10 to make a nomination for the current calendar year.

Past Recipients

1979    Hod Humiston  (d. 12/28/87)

1980    Dev Nelson, KKSU AM, Manhattan

1981    Max Falkenstein, Lawrence

1982    Bob Hilgendorf, Manhattan

1983    Bob Pratt, KGGF/KQQF, Coffeyville

1984    Tom Hedrick KU, KLWN/KLZR, Lawrence

1985    Bob Fromme, KC Royals Radio Network, Kansas City

1986    Ed O’Donnell  WIBW AM/FM, Topeka

1987    Bill Miller, KLEO/KZSN, Wichita

1988    Tad Felts, KKAN/KQMA, Phillipsburg

1989    Fred Conger, KWBW/KHUT, Hutchinson

1990    Kay Melia, KLOE AM, Goodland

1991    Bob Davis, KMBZ Radio, Westwood

1992    Tony Jewell,  KIUL/KWKR, Garden City

1993    Nelson Hartman, KSHSAA (retired)

1994    Ron Paradis, WIBW TV/Radio, Topeka

1995    Mitch Holthus, WIBW Radio, Voice of the K-State Wildcats, Voice of the K.C. Chiefs

1996    Bob Wells, Retired, Harris Co., Garden City now of Lawrence

1997    Dale McCoy, Jr., KKOY Am/FM, Chanute

1998    George Donley, Great Bend (posthumously, d. 1997)

1999    WIBW Radio Sports Department, Topeka

2000    Dewey Terrill, KJCK AM/FM, Junction City

2001    Rich Epp, KLBY TV, Colby

2002    Rocky Downing, KCLY/KFRM, Clay Center

2003    Cliff Shank, KGGG/KSKU/KXKU, Hutchinson

2004    Fred White, Kansas City Royals

2005    Rusty Hilst, KWBW AM, Hutchinson

2006    Gary Bateman, KOFO AM, Ottawa

2007    Bruce Haertl, KWCH TV, Wichita

2008    Randy Goering, KVGB AM-FM, Great Bend

2009    Brock Kappelmann, KSCB AM-FM, Liberal

2010    Mike Manns, KMAJ AM-FM, Topeka

2011    Wyatt Thompson, Voice of the K-State Wildcats, Manhattan

2012    Gerard Wellbrock, KAYS AM, Hays

2013    Eddie Lomshek, KKOW AM, Pittsburg

2014    Mike Kennedy, Voice of the Wichita State Shockers, Wichita

2015    Jenn Bates, KWCH TV, Wichita

2016    Steve Webster, KVGB AM, Great Bend

2017    Glen Grunwald, KWBW AM, Hutchinson

2018    Greg Rahe, KVOE AM, Emporia

2019    Brian Hanni, KLWN, Lawrence

2020    Devin Hanney, KINA, Salina

2021    John Swanson, KVSV AM-FM

2022    Aaron Napier, Ad Astra, Hutchinson